Latest Government Jobs and updates


TNPSC Current Affairs 2017 February 22

Justice A.M Sapre - Cauvery Tribunal’s New head.

The Supreme Court has appointed Justice Abhay Manohar Sapre as new chairman of the Cauvery water Disputes Tribunal.
Chief Justice of India J S Khehar has nominated A M Sapre as new Chairman. The post fell vacant after the resignation of Justice B S Chauhan following his appointment as Law commission chairman, in March 2016

A.M Sapre served as Judge at the Madhya Pradesh High Court and Rajasthan High Courts. He also served as Chief Justice of Gauhati and Manipur High court before he was elevated as judge of Supreme Court.

About Cauvery Water Dispute Tribunal:

Cauvery water Tribunal was set up in June 2 1990, after reading the dispute the tribunal announces in 2007 allocating 419 tmc water to Tamil Nadu and 270 tmc to Karnataka, 30tmc ft to Kerala and 7 tmc ft to Puducherry. However both Tamil Nadu and Karnataka filled a review petition before the tribunal to reallocate the water share.

In 2012, the then Prime Minister Manmohan Singh was the chairman of Cauvery River authority and directed Karnataka to release 9000 cusecs of water daily. Again Karnataka Government failed to comply with order.

Again in 2016 the Then Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu Jayalalitha  filed an interlocutory petition in Supreme Court seeking release of water as per guidelines of Cauvery Tribunal and Supreme Court has now directed Karnataka Government to release 15,000 cusecs of water but Karnataka Government Failed to comply with order duet to widespread violent protest.

About Water Dispute Tribunal:

The Interstate River Water Disputes Act 1956 which is enacted in Government of India under Article 262 of Constitution of India made the central Government to settle the issue when there is inter-state water dispute arise.

However in December 2016, the Central Government cleared a proposal to set up single permanent Tribunal to settle interstate water dispute. This helps to speed up the water sharing dispute between states. At present there are 8 Tribunals including cauvery, Mahadayi, Ravi and Beas, Vansadhara, and Krishna River.

No comments:

Post a Comment